May Favs & June Goals

It would literally be just comics if I could afford them all.

13335327_10209558869235097_1456132302_n.jpg

❤️‍❤️‍❤️‍ May Favorites! ❤️‍❤️‍❤️‍

The Wicked + The Divine: So we may as well start with the best damn thing about May. During a super awesome surprise visit from my friend Kalley I finally visited our local comic shop after living here for almost an entire year. While there Kalley picked up
Issue #7 of The Vision – which looks fucking amazing – and I grabbed The Wicked + The Divine: Faust Act. I ran back to the comic shop to get the second volume the next day. This comic series is fucking amazing. Imagine your favorite mythological gods, not imagine them as rockstars, now imagine that you could become one of them, and then add a dash of mystery and some super cool and aesthetically pleasing designs and you’ve got the WicDiv comic series. It is a great read and I am super eager to get my hands on their upcoming 1831 Special!

Persepolis: Another comic, but seriously this one was so good. I know it has been out forever and odds are you’ve heard of it, but in case you haven’t Persepolis is a coming of age story about a young girl growing up in war-torn Iran. It’s funny, it’s tragic, it’s well done, there’s some awesome little tidbits of history in there. Not to mention that it is a quick read. If you’re looking for a graphic novel to read you should def check it out, or watch the movie. I’m checking that one out tonight! 😍

Living Beauty by Bobbi Brown: Okay, so admittedly I picked this one up by accident. I was browsing the cosmetology books in hopes of finding something to prep myself for touring some cosmo schools, and I knew Bobbi Brown was “like legit” so I jumped at the chance to read her book. Once I got into it though it became super clear that this book was about revitalizing aging skin and dealing with getting old. Being twenty, this book did not make me excited for my next birthday, BUT it did provide a bunch of really good info and helped me correct my own skin routine. If you’re looking for a super accessible read about esthetics and don’t mind it being oriented to an older audience check it out.

13335419_10209558812633682_34492805_n

Bullets by Tunng: “Green hills and enemies/These things they make us sentimental inside,” Pretty sure this is exactly the song I see my novel ending with. I just finished outlining for my third draft and this piece just reminds me so much of two of my spies. Seriously thankful I finally reached the end of outlining.

13348972_10209558812433677_1821168407_n

42 by Coldplay: “Those who are dead, are not dead/They’re just living in my head,” Once again topical to finishing my outlining. These two are absolutely the most listened to songs in my Spotify this month. I seriously love this piece. It mostly reminds me of my tri-clops.

Maui Mango Surf: It wouldn’t be me if there wasn’t some form of lotion or cosmetic included. 💅 Mango surf smells awesome and I wish I would have bought the perfume, but nonetheless the lotion is super nice on my skin and the scent is sweet but not overpowering like a few other Bath and Body Works summer scents. I’m not sure if you can still get it, but if you can def try some because it smells awesome and is perfect for the -finally- warming weather!

✔️✔️✔️Get to Work: June Goals✔️✔️✔️

  • Finish Combing Character Skeletons
  • Log 5 Hours of Volunteer Work
  • Write and Edit: Dresden -1-
  • Write 4 Disability Poems
  • Read Bitch Planet
  • Make Progress in American Gods -the slowest trudge imaginable.

Thanks for reading!
-HC

Leave a Reply

